COMSA Volunteer Service Awards

Each year since 1983 COMSA has presented an award to one male and female who has made a significant contribution to Master’s Swimming and COMSA. From 1983–2007 this award was named the Lt. Governor’s Cup. In 2008, the award was re-named as the Jack Buchannan COMSA Service Award. Listed below are the award winners.

Nominations Open: October 1st
Nominations Close: February 1st 

Awards will be presented during the COMSA Championship meet in March.  

We will also include the nomination questions for the U.S. Masters Swimming Dot Donnelly Service Award. This section is optional. We would love to elevate the recognition of our volunteers if they meet the criteria. Please include as much information as possible.

Click here to fill out the: COMSA Service Award Nomination Form 

COMSA Service Award Recipients 


Jack Buchannan Service Award

Year Male Recipient Female Recipient
2024 Eric Neilsen
2023 Andrew Le Vasseur Kathleen Steffe
2022 Chris Nolte n/a
2021 n/a Heather Melrose
2020 Pete Schwenker Marcia Anziano
2019 Terry Heggy Susan Nolte
2018 Kent Carney Debra Butler
2017 n/a n/a
2016 n/a Carol Craft
Kelly Davis
2015 Eduardo Cruz Shelle Freund
2014 Patrick Burke Stacy Broncucia
2013 Jack Nuanes Heide Crino
2012 Brian Hoyt Peggy Buchannan
2011 Richard Hess Heather Hagadorn
2010 n/a Kim Crouch
2009 Jeff Magouirk Nicole Vanderpoel
2008 Pete Schwenker Kathy Garnier

Lt Governors Cup Service Award 1983-2007

2007 Will Amos Marcia Anziano
2006 Mark Plummer Heather Hagadorn
2005 Jack Truby Susan Nolte
2004 Jack Buchannan Cindy Hawkinson
2003 Rich Abrahams Marcia Anziano
2002 Hank Zentgraf Karen Zentgraf
2001 Michael Schoenecke Cathy Drozda
2000 Steve McDanal Melanie Dullea
1999 Dennis West Cindy Guthrie
1998 Bob Patten Dawn Obrecht
1997 George Kenry Karen Loucks-Baker
1996 Chris Nolte Susan Nolte
1995 John Tobin Frances Holmes
1994 Tim Garton Richalie Cranmer-Ball
1993 Bill Koerber Ellen Atkinson
1992 Jack Buchannan Nancy Brueggeman
1991 Dave Snow Ana-Mary Hottinger
1990 Bill King Pat May
1989 Dick Strickland Margaret Stannard
1988 Arnie Dowd Judy Reed
1987 Jack Truby Karen Hogan
1986 Mike Chessnoe Mary Pudim
1985 Don May Ellen Beavers
1984 Ed Talmage Louise Mann
1983 Skip Mann Peggy Buchannan